Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Tax recap from Election Day

Voters in several North Georgia cities and counties cast ballots on a host of tax measures in last Tuesday’s elections.

A 54-46 majority of voters in Cobb County, a traditionally low-tax county, authorized a $68 million bond that could raise Cobb’s property tax millage rate by 2 mills, which would increase taxes there by $200 annually per $100,000 in assessed value.

Also in the metro-area, majorities in Gwinnett County (58-41) and Henry County (54-46) approved renewals of 1 percent special local option sales taxes (SPLOST), and Rockdale County voters passed a 1-cent sales tax for education. 

Elsewhere in North Georgia, majorities in Lumpkin (70-30), Walker (68-32), Carroll, Gilmer, Haralson, Madison, and Union County also approved SPLOSTs.

Anti-tax sentiment was more pronounced in Habersham County, where SPLOST renewal was defeated 54-46, and in Fayette County where a SPLOST for stormwater drainage projects was defeated 57-43.  A SPLOST in Floyd County barely passed.

Voters in the City of Clarkesville in Habersham County passed tax relief for businesses by approving Freeport exemptions on business inventories.

The City of Decatur and DeKalb County had no proposed tax changes on the ballot.

No comments:

Post a Comment